Rather Than Writing is Evolving

So I’ve taken a pretty long break from this blog. To my followers, I want to apologize for my absence, but I haven’t forgotten you. I’ve taken time off to make make some huge life changes. This year I left my job as an executive as a corporation and decided to dive into writing full-time. I knew I would never be happy unless I dedicated myself to writing. I’m running my own freelance writing and blogging business.

That’s right, folks. I’m blogging full-time. While I’ll be working with corporate clients, my main focus is going to be working on blogs. That means I’m going put a lot more work into this blog, and Rather Than Writing will be evolving. You’re going to see some big changes here in the near future, and I’m really excited to announce them:

1. The site will be changing names and will move to a self-hosted domain

I’ve wanted to do this for a while, and I’m excited to finally have the time to make it a reality. I’ll be announcing the new name and address as soon as I get the site running and load it with tons of new content. Don’t worry, this will be happening soon! In the mean time, I will be updating this site before fully migrating.

2. I’m going to be making this my number one blogging priority 

Writing is my passion, and I love to talk about it and teach it. You’re going to see frequent, regular content that provides value to readers.

3. I don’t want this to just be a blog

I want this to be a writing community where writers can come for advice, to talk, to share, and to learn. I want to encourage relationships with other writers, and I want to see you talk about writing in the comments.

4. I want to know what you want to see on my site.

What interests you? What do you want to know about writing? What types of content do you want to see? What are your questions? I want to commit to your needs as writers and readers. Please leave feedback when you have ideas, or feel free to contact me privately via email any time.

5. Content will evolve

I have big plans in store. I’m not quite ready to announce all the changes yet, but I want to put a larger focus on writing craft and how reading impacts writers. In my survey of writing sites, I’ve found that while many experts talk about reading as important to writers, no one is talking about that reading. There aren’t many sources showing writers what they should get out of their reading or how to apply what they’ve learned. I intend to tackle that gap as one of my larger focuses, so stay tuned for more information.

6. I plan to offer writing exercises and practice more often

The point of a writing site is to help writers become better writers, so I feel that is a major gap in my existing content. You’ll see tons of great opportunities to practice the craft of writing.

I’m really excited about the future of my blog, and I can’t wait to share all my work with you.

If you have any initial feedback or ideas, don’t hesitate to share it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

